Sewaway wrap up


I got back from Sewaway this afternoon. I am exhausted and elated all at the same time. Frustrated at my lack of ability and bouyed by the things I’ve learned. Eternally thankful for the skills and company of an awesome group of sewers.

Sewaway was held at the wonderful Mill Rose Cottage and Retreat in Ballan (same owners as the adjacent cafe and quilt shop). Our hosts could not have been more accommodating. The cottage was warm and toasty when it was chilly outside, we were fed to the point of gluttony by both the cafe and our own supplies, and the beds were soft at the end of a long days sewing.

I made two items of clothing, as well as a muslin before the main event. If I had been more prepared before arriving I could have pumped out more, but it is what it is. Both need a bit of finishing (hemming etc) but I’m happy with my output. Nowhere near as many as my fellow sewers, but I am rather a tortise in this scenario.

It took us all of two or three hours to decide to make it a yearly event and we’ve already booked in.

Many many thanks to Kat for organising and doing a lot of the legwork.

Roll on Sewaway 2015!

IMG_0930

Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries

Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries

IMG_0937

IMG_0940

Pristine on Saturday, by Monday morning covered in threads...

Pristine on Saturday, by Monday morning covered in threads…

 

IMG_0035

IMG_0034

Quilting cotton remnants and buttons from next door.

Quilting cotton remnants and buttons from next door.

 

Leave a Reply

