Tuesday book meme

I saw this bookish meme originally over at Green Gourmet Giraffe aaaaaages ago, so thought BlogJune was as good a time as any to dig it up and have a bash myself. Feel free to join me.

Be warned, I cheated a bit and got rid of questions I thought were a bit stupid or didn’t have an answer for, so if you’re a completist, please click over to Johanna’s post.

And if you’d like to be kept up to date with books I read in a social media way, I do Good Reads.

Author you’ve read the most books from: At a guess, Peter Carey. Of my favourite authors, he’s the one that’s been around the longest, so I’m drawing a conclusion that he’s written the most novels.

Best Sequel Ever: I can’t think of any, but the winner of the worst sequel ever in my book is Oh Play That Thing by  Roddy Doyle. Its predecessor, A Star Called Henry, is one of my favourite books, a knockout work of brilliance. This sequel is just…crap. It broke my heart. There is a third book, I’m not going to read it.
Currently Reading: Alif the Unseen by G Willow Wilson. I quite like it, but I can’t say I follow the technical jargon of hackers.
Drink of Choice While Reading: Water. Sorry, I’m not much of a drinker of alcohol. Or coffee. Or tea.

E-reader or Physical Book? Both, but I generally only use my Kindle when I’m travelling or when the waiting list at the library is long and I’m desperate to get my hands on something NOW.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School: It’s not from a book, but I’m pretty sure I actually DID date Jordan Catalano.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance: The Draining Lake by Arnaldur Indridason. It was one of three English language books for sale in the giftshop of the Helsinki-Stockholm ferry I was on several years ago (I think the others were a romance (ick) and Harry Potter, which I’d already read). And thus began my obsession with Scandinavian crime fiction.
Hidden Gem Book: I tell EVERYONE (and consider this as me telling you. Yes you) to read the Rivers of London series by Ben Aaronovitch. They are fantastic.

Important Moment in your Reading Life: I distinctly remember my older sister coming home from school and teaching me how to read. I would have been 3 or so.
Just Finished: The Professor of Truth by James Robertson. Quite a haunting tale of a man struggling to deal with the deaths of his wife and child in the (unnamed) Lockerbie bombing.
Kinds of Books You Won’t Read: Romance. Pure sci-fi. “Domestic” fiction. Chick lit. I devour trashy music, TV and movies but I can’t stomach trashy novels.

Longest Book You’ve Read: Maybe Wolf Hall. Or Gone With The Wind. Or the last Obernewtyn Chronicles book (or was that just how it felt…). I try to only read huge novels in e because I have form for knocking myself in the head with big books. Hardcovers hurt.

Major book hangover because of: The first three Mortal Instruments books. John Green. Kazuo Ishiguro. A Star Called Henry.

Number of Bookcases You Own: Two. One is quite large and actually doesn’t have that many of my books in it anymore. I’ve only kept my most favourite novels. I’ve gotten way less materialistic over the years so don’t feel the desire to own my own copy of most books. I work in a library, I’m surrounded by books all day every day. The other shelf is cookbooks.
One Book You Have Read Multiple Times: I tend to read Obernewtyn when I’m sick.

Preferred Place To Read: 
Bed. 

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read: Can’t think of anything off the top of my head, but it’d likely be either Peter Carey or Kazuo Ishiguro. Those dudes can write.

Reading Regret: A few years ago Gav convinced me to re-read The Catcher In The Rye after I told him how much I’d hated it when I had to study it in Year 11. And you know what? Still hated it.

Series You Started And Need To Finish:  The Obernewtyn Chronicles. I started reading these more or less when they came out and twenty-odd years later I’m still waiting for the bloody thing to end. And the thing that irks me is that the number of books keeps growing (and the publication date keeps getting pushed back by years) but the books have gotten progressively worse since book 4 but I JUST NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books: Never Let Me Go. The Handmaids Tale. Oscar and Lucinda.

Unapologetic Fangirl For: Harry Potter. Scandi crime. John Green.

Very Excited For This Release: The final book in the Mortal Instruments series, City of Heavenly Fire (actually, this came out last week and is in my Kindle waiting for me to finish Alif the Unseen). I’m DYING to get into it.

Worst Bookish Habit: I turn page corners down. In library books. Yes, I am a librarian.

Your latest book purchase: City of Heavenly Fire. But I rarely buy books at all these days for myself, this is probably the first in at least six months.

One response to “Tuesday book meme

Leave a Reply

