First knit!

IMG_0771

Stripes!

I thought for my first attempt at a knit top I’d hit up the Deer and Doe Plantain tshirt (it’s a free pattern) that has been bouncing around the internet for a while.

Not only was it my first knit, it was also my first attempt at pattern matching (in this case stripes). This is a Big Deal in my psyche – I have maaaany memories of firstly my mum struggling with it when sewing my sister and I’s calesthenics costumes, then later my sister absolutely cracking it over her Textiles homework in high school. I think I did pretty well.

Check out that stripe matching.

The fabric is from Darn Cheap fabrics and is….some kind of… knit? Seriously, I need to pay more attention when I buy fabric. I think I paid about $5-6/metre for it. Anyway, it’s nice and soft several washes later so a good buy.

I got the vast majority of this done at Social Sewing a few months ago, and I will say this until I’m blue in the face, I adore Social Sewing. As a beginner, it is so amazing to have a room full of experience to draw on and no one has ever laughed at my stupid questions, or when I do things like sew a sleeve on inside out (I’m not saying it actually happened…).

It was also the first use of a twin needle, which I grabbed from the Janome dealer out the back of my work (can I tell you how convenient that is?). I’m still on the fence with this one. It didn’t really make that much of a difference and I’m not that much of a perfectionist.

I really, really like this top. It’s long enough to cover my, ahem, modesty when I bend over at work. Which is a lot. I can see myself getting a fair bit of use out of this pattern over the winter.

My only real concern is the neckline. I have pressed the bejesus out of it and it still doesn’t sit flat. Not sure if I stretched it out when I was attaching it or if it’s a construction issue. I’ll fess up to not being the world’s best topstitcher.

IMG_0759

Standy uppy collar. Boo.

3 responses to “First knit!

  1. where did you calisthenic? State, suburb, team, teacher etc. We could have put a team together at boroondara!

    • Back in Canberra – would have been Belconnen team I think? We rehearsed at Aranda Primary School, I remember that much. I quit in a tantrum when I was 7 or so when I was defeated by the figure eights behind the head, but my sister did it until she was fourteen or so.

Leave a Reply

