Wins and fails

Bit of a mixed bag today.

Over the last 4-5 days I’d made decent progress on my Simplicity 6128 that’s been a WIP for…too long. Last night I got it to the point that all I had to do was attach the waistband, insert the zipper, hem it and DONE.

Except that I’m crap at maths and hadn’t scaled up the waistband enough, so I had to do it again. Then I sat looking at the instructions for two hours trying to decipher them (I need to be shown, not told. I am so crap at following written instructions, I can’t even. IKEA kills me). An hour of furious YouTubing had not much effect. It seems I’ve completely forgotten how to do it since my last skirt (about 18 months ago).

I will finish you, skirt.

I will finish you, skirt.

However, I discovered that Craftsy were having a sale on their sewing classes so I snatched up the A-line skirt drafting and construction class. I’m hoping this will snap my brain back into working mode and I can come back and finish this bloody never ending Simplicity make.

Le sigh.

In other news, I made cake. This cake, to be exact. It’s delicious.

20130915-191006.jpg

2 responses to “Wins and fails

  1. Pingback: Sewjo is back! | Jackie of No Trade·

Leave a Reply

