Monday Meme

I’ve been a bad BlogJune-er. I reaaallly wasn’t feeling it over the weekend and let the daily postings slide (I reaaaalllly wasn’t feeling much of anything over the weekend. Got nothing done). I’m feeling more into it now.

So with no further ado, I give you the Monday Meme (once again, brought to you by the most excellent Fi)!

How old were you when you first travelled? Probably a toddler. Most travel when I was a kid was either to Adelaide (Mum’s side of the family) or Brisbane (Dad’s). I have no memory of this but there is a family legend of a trip to Kingscliff or Queenscliff (I have no idea which, there is no reason why we would be in either) when I was a wee babe and I got *monstered* by midges and required hospitalisation.

What is your favourite form of travelling: car, bus, train, or plane? Short haul – train. Long haul – plane, but only because a plane trip usually indicates an exciting destination.

Where did you go on your first road trip? Adelaide or Brisbane. From Canberra. In 14 hours straight with no stops. In a lime green Torana (go Raiders!) with no airconditioning. Listening to my Dad’s 50s and 60s compilation tapes with the volume at 11 (and listening to him chewing Minties constantly to keep awake). These trips basically ensured I loathe road trips for life.

Where did you go on your first bus ride? Most likely from Holt (family home) to Belconnen (shopping centre). We lived within walking distance of primary and high school as well as local shops, so there wasn’t a huge need for travel. I was allowed to catch the bus, with friends, to Belco from about Year 5 or so.

Where did you go on your first train ride? From Canberra to Sydney (where my Uncle lives). I have an idea that it was for the Bicentennial celebrations cause we didn’t often go to Sydney. Canberra’s not big on trains so it wasn’t until my first trip to Melbourne in 2001 that I was next on a train.

Where did you go on your first plane ride? I think it was Canberra to Adelaide, and it would have just been Mum with us or we would have gone in the car.

Motion sickness? Treatment of choice? Not really.

Where would you like to go that you haven’t been? Basically the WHOLE WORLD. Loooooove travel. High priority for the next trip is Penang.

Where would you like to go back to? Japan, Vanuatu, Antwerp, France, UK, Finland (in the summer this time!), NZ….

Travelling alone or with someone? It’s more fun with Gav. I’m good at languages, he handles the maps.

Your ultimate travelling dream? Spending a few months living somewhere and totally immersing myself in the community.

Et vous?

Leave a Reply

