Chestnut and borlotti bean soup

I skipped yesterday’s BlogJune post. Don’t think anyone noticed.

If the weather we’ve been having in Melbourne this week isn’t soup weather, I’ve no idea what is. Cold (like, proper, have lived in QLD for three years ACTUALLY COLD), raining, generally pretty miserable. It’s my kind of weather.

Tonights soup is brought to you by…I can’t actually remember. Bad librarian. Something I did a quick photocopy of, probably months ago and then forgot about. Given the level of fancy-ness in the original recipe (seared scallops as a garnish! make you own herbed oil!), I’d hazard a guess at Australian Gourmet Traveller.

Chestnuts. Love em. Am I about to score, roast and peel a kilo of them for a weeknight dinner? Hellllll no. I get these prepared chestnuts from my local Asian supermarket and they are fab.

20130614-193235.jpg

Chestnut & Borlotti Bean Soup

(heavily adapted from…somewhere)

1tbsp butter

splash of olive oil

2 leeks, chopped

2 celery stalks, chopped

100g pancetta, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

2 tins borlotti beans, drained and rinsed (or the equivalent of fresh or dried)

4-5 sprigs of thyme (I actually forgot to put this in but I meant to)

3x100g packets of chestnuts, minus the 4 or 5 I nibbled on while I was doing the chopping

1 apple, peeled and grated

1L chicken stock

200ml cream (OK, confession time. I use a small tin of evaporated milk instead of cream in soup, unless I’m feeling super decadent. Don’t try and tell me you can taste the difference)

Gently saute the leek, celery, pancetta and garlic in the butter and oil over a medium heat for 5-10 minutes.

Add the beans, chestnuts, thyme, apple and stock and simmer for 10 minutes.

Add the cream/evaporated milk and zjuzh with a hand blender or food processor (if you’ve remembered to put the thyme in, here is where you remember to take it out), then season to taste.

Serve with good bread if you have it, or just normal bread.

20130614-193229.jpg

4 responses to “Chestnut and borlotti bean soup

    • That would be lovely. I’m capable of soup-making but I’ve had a headache since lunchtime. Mr J is away on business and won’t get home for another two hours.
      I didn’t know you could get chestnuts pre-prepared like that! If I can find some I might actually try your recipe this winter.

Leave a Reply

