The downside of being short

(I’m not sure there are many upsides to being short to be honest…)

It occurs to me that pant hemming is a bit of an art form. It would take my mother in law and my late godmother about 6.5 minutes to take up a pair of my pants (which they did often – if I ever walked into either of their houses with pants that were too long there would be a disdainful look and a “pants off” command, and I’d get them back by the time the tea was ready). Alas, with my mother in law in Canberra I’ve lost my on call seamstress so I’ve got to do the bloody things myself.

Me? About an hour all up. Though I am moving sloooowwwly today thanks to a 7km run this morning (look out 10km, I’m coming for you).

I’m sure if you looked closely they’re probably not straight, but hey, I can get my feet through the holes at the end!

20130611-164011.jpg

3 responses to “The downside of being short

  1. There are upsides. We are very creative with getting around the shortness. Also, Ikea’s Bekvam stool is a definite upside!

    It certainly takes me am age to hem my trousers, and I cannot say I’ve succeeded in perfectly professional hemming, but I’m happy I can do it myself!

    • Hmmm yes, I think a stool might come in handy given that the current system involves me standing on the 4th stair and Gav sprawled across the first three with the pins…

    • My Ikea stool is a Molger. It felt sturdy.
      I’ve not yet mastered hemming, so I mentally add seamstress fees to the cost of pants when I’m shopping and decide whether I’m still willing to pay that.

Leave a Reply

