Tuesday Meme – why I blog

I’m knackered and cranky after a less than satisfactory run this afternoon so I’m being lazy and jumping on Fiona’s meme bandwagon today.

How long have you been blogging? This blog – just under a month. I previously (in like, 2005 or so) had another blog which has been assigned to the great internet dustbin in the ether. At the time I was working in a call centre and was bored out of my tiny mind, with lots of free time and unfettered access to the internet. That lasted about 18 months (funnily enough, until I got made redundant) and I just kinda…stopped.

Why did you start blogging? How many times a week do you post an entry? I started blogging because I wanted a spot where I could record all the little spare time projects I get up to – both as a record for myself and a way of sharing with others. Right now I’m posting every day as part of BlogJune, but I imagine/hope that about once a week will be the norm as I go on.

How many different blogs do you read on a regular basis? Erm, lots. I can’t see a quick way to see how many I subscribe to in The Old Reader (I miss Google Reader already, and it hasn’t even been extinct-ed yet). My soon to expire Google Reader tells me I have 316, how many of those are active I can’t say. There’s a great mix in there of personal, food, sewing, design, library, book blogs.

Do you comment on other people’s blogs? Yes and no. Yes when I have something to say, or when the blogger has asked a question of their readers, but I am a bit of a lurker by nature.

Do you keep track of how many visitors you have? Not at the moment.

Did you ever regret a post that you wrote? Not yet. Give me time.

Do you think your readers have a true sense of who you are based on your blog? I think so. I’ve been told I write much in the way that I speak. My Twitter feed (over there on your right) is a pretty damm good representation of who I am.

Do you blog under your real name? Yep. I don’t think about it much. Not only do I have a very common name, but I also have a movie named after me. Good luck stalking me.

Are there topics that you would never blog about? Probably, but only because I’d fear not being articulate enough on an issue. I would never intentionally offend anyone, but I am quite aware that I have, ummm, alternative views on many things. I’m an open person though, and I don’t shy away from sharing an opinion when asked.

What is the theme/topic of your blog? Stuff. That I do in my spare time. Cooking, sewing, running, reading, music, whatever takes my fancy at the time.

Do you have more than one blog? If so, why? No, but I do have the usual array of social media accounts – Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, yada yada yada.

One response to “Tuesday Meme – why I blog

  1. Pingback: The World of Blogging: 2013 365 Challenge #207 | writermummy·

Leave a Reply

